Do You Practice Compassionate Communication?

 

 

I recently experienced some turbulence in my relationship, I thought I was communicating clearly what my needs were, but my boyfriend didn't seem to care.

 

As it turns out, I wasn't communicating what I thought I was, but I only discovered this by talking through with my Minister. I'd mentioned that I thought the compassionate communication workshop that New Unity had hosted recently would have really helped the quality of my relationship. He gave me a brief summary of what it was- "aim to communicate to the other person that you understand their perspective, their feelings, their situation etc." 

 

Copmassion
Copmassion

 

I thought about this, and how I could do that and I spent a lot of time writing an email to my boyfriend, doing my best to show him that I could understand how he was probably feeling.

 

My instinct, my burning desire was to try and tell him what it was like for me, so that he would understand me, but I resisted, following the guidance and I created a heartfelt email. 


Within a few hours the conflict had completely turned around, my boyfriend having read my email contacted me and suggested that we meet to talk. (He'd previously refused to respond to any messages and told me clearly not to contact him again!) 

That one email where I showed compassion and understanding of his situation completely turned everything around.
We talked, and talked and talked, and in that process we resolved many of the issues that had resulted in us getting into the conflict. We both understood each other far more clearly, and since then both of us have been much more attentive to each others needs.
In short- implementing compassion (and compassionate communication) has resulted in a much happier, loving and deeper relationship with the man I love. 

So, when you get upset, do you practice compassionate communication?  Or do you bluster on trying to get the other person to understand you?

Next time you're in a conflict situation, take a moment and think "How can I communicate to this person that I understand them?"  You might be surprised at how it opens up the discussion and results in them understanding you.   

As the phrase goes "seek not to be understood, but to understand".  

Write a comment

Comments: 15
  • #1

    Andrew Banks (Monday, 20 May 2013 09:08)

    I was going to put this on your article "What Is Free Flow Writing and How To Do It", but I didn't see a place to post. So I put it here. I am interested in the subject and there seems to be so little out there about it. So I was happy when I saw your article and I really enjoyed reading it. Thank you. Finding new ways to write, new ways to be creative is like finding a gold nugget. My plan is to prepare a way for what is feeling like a new passion welling up inside of me. I, too, have written an article about writing spontaneously. I hope you'll read it and leave a comment and maybe a thumbs up if you like it. http://www.infobarrel.com/Natural_Flow_Article_Writing

  • #2

    Demmings For Congress (Saturday, 22 February 2014 05:23)

    congratulations guys, quality information you have given!!!

  • #3

    text a psychic uk (Thursday, 15 December 2016 10:29)

    showplace

  • #4

    sex telefony (Monday, 19 December 2016 10:03)

    stylistic

  • #5

    urok miłosny (Wednesday, 11 January 2017 03:40)

    clamantis

  • #6

    liebes rituale (Friday, 13 January 2017 02:18)

    Marszewnica

  • #7

    rytuał miłosny (Monday, 10 April 2017 04:36)

    rytuał miłosny

  • #8

    sexanonse (Monday, 04 September 2017 13:38)

    aleksandrowianin

  • #9

    kurwy sex (Tuesday, 05 September 2017 08:20)

    tężcowy

  • #10

    sextel (Friday, 08 September 2017 08:22)

    wespnijmy

  • #11

    tam (Saturday, 09 September 2017 05:06)

    Horeszką

  • #12

    pod tym adresem (Wednesday, 13 September 2017 05:41)

    wymięknąłbyś

  • #13

    seks dziwki (Thursday, 14 September 2017 12:33)

    ziu

  • #14

    sex telefony (Monday, 02 October 2017 05:26)

    pocykać

  • #15

    sex telefon (Friday, 13 October 2017 06:11)

    kolorowanka